Hyper Dictionary

English Dictionary Computer Dictionary Video Dictionary Thesaurus Dream Dictionary Medical Dictionary

Search Dictionary:  

Meaning of APOCRYPHA

Pronunciation:  u'p√Ękreefu

WordNet Dictionary
[n]  14 books of the Old Testament included in the Vulgate but omitted in Jewish and Protestant versions of the Bible

APOCRYPHA is a 9 letter word that starts with A.


 See Also: Old Testament, religious text, religious writing, sacred text, sacred writing



Webster's 1913 Dictionary
\A*poc"ry*pha\, n. pl., but often used as sing. with
pl. {Apocryphas}. [L. apocryphus apocryphal, Gr. ? hidden,
spurious, fr. ? to hide; ? from + ? to hide.]
1. Something, as a writing, that is of doubtful authorship or
   authority; -- formerly used also adjectively. [Obs.]

2. Specif.: Certain writings which are received by some
   Christians as an authentic part of the Holy Scriptures,
   but are rejected by others.

Note: Fourteen such writings, or books, formed part of the
      Septuagint, but not of the Hebrew canon recognized by
      the Jews of Palestine. The Council of Trent included
      all but three of these in the canon of inspired books
      having equal authority. The German and English
      Reformers grouped them in their Bibles under the title
      Apocrypha, as not having dogmatic authority, but being
      profitable for instruction. The Apocrypha is now
      commonly ?mitted from the King James's Bible.

Easton Bible Dictionary

hidden, spurious, the name given to certain ancient books which found a place in the LXX. and Latin Vulgate versions of the Old Testament, and were appended to all the great translations made from them in the sixteenth century, but which have no claim to be regarded as in any sense parts of the inspired Word.

(1.) They are not once quoted by the New Testament writers, who frequently quote from the LXX. Our Lord and his apostles confirmed by their authority the ordinary Jewish canon, which was the same in all respects as we now have it.

(2.) These books were written not in Hebrew but in Greek, and during the "period of silence," from the time of Malachi, after which oracles and direct revelations from God ceased till the Christian era.

(3.) The contents of the books themselves show that they were no part of Scripture. The Old Testament Apocrypha consists of fourteen books, the chief of which are the Books of the Maccabees (q.v.), the Books of Esdras, the Book of Wisdom, the Book of Baruch, the Book of Esther, Ecclesiasticus, Tobit, Judith, etc.

The New Testament Apocrypha consists of a very extensive literature, which bears distinct evidences of its non-apostolic origin, and is utterly unworthy of regard.